Self-Care Sunday

Self-Care Sunday: Take Yourself to Dinner

Ah, here we are to Sunday again.  Hopefully we will just get the post in before midnight, and we can still count it as Sunday.  A little late this week, but I still want to be loyal to my series.  So, here we go.

Tonight, dear reader, I had a date.  A long overdue date, and one that I was really looking forward to.  It was a date that I should have gone on a long time ago, and one that I constantly put off.  I had a date with myself.

I eat by myself most of the time.  My roommates and I eat dinner at different times, or I take my lunch breaks alone so I can decompress from working, even on the weekends I don’t often eat with people.  However, even still, taking myself out to dinner is a completely different thing.

All weekend, I have been craving Applebee’s, but I couldn’t get someone to go with me.  So, I decided that I would take myself to dinner and use the time for reflection and peace.  With me, I took along Jamie Tworkowski’s If You Feel Too Much, a book that I have been yearning to read since I bought it almost 2 years ago.  And tonight, the time that I had set aside to spend with me, I thought would be a perfect time to read it.  While I can’t read a 200 page book in an hour (not for lack of trying), I already know that this is going to be a special book.  Jamie has an amazing story and an amazing spirit, and even just reading the 30 or so pages that I have, I can tell that it’s going to be a special book.

Be encouraged. Your heart is writing a poem on the world and it’s being turned into a thousand songs.

-Don Miller

The above is a quote from the foreword, written by Donald Miller.  Just one of those quotes that I want to write all over my walls for me to remember, mixed in with my other beautiful quotes.  If Jamie can inspire people to merely say these things about him, imagine what he has to say, and already, I am finding that out.

So, by now, you’re probably wondering why the heck I started off talking about taking myself to dinner and morphed into discussing a book.  I will tell you.  Because I was treating myself to dinner and peace, with a book that I wanted to read and taking some time that I had scheduled with myself.  It was long overdue, and I left it feeling refreshed and renewed.  I was taking the time to treat myself like a person, a person deserving of respect and care too.

  1. Treat yourself like a person
  2. Don’t be afraid of eating alone
  3. Do things that refresh you
  4. Remember that you and your body deserve as much respect as a stranger

Treat Yourself

Stay fearless, friends (3)

Leave a Reply

